Learning To Draw

Tonight Johnny wanted to learn how to draw flowers and Mommy showed him how to draw flowers.

Johnny loves scribbling with crayons and markers and exploring colour with painting.  He gets a lot of sensory feedback from this plus he loves to see what happens when the colour hits the paper and gets manipulated around and what it becomes.  I thought that’s what he was doing again with his crayons after doing his practice homework.  We were using the Occupational Therapists advice and using broken bits of crayons to practice holding the crayon better and drawing.   I made a suggestion that maybe he might try and draw a tree?  Instead of saying “no” and playing with colours he turned and looked at me and said “Mama hard.”  I wasn’t expecting that so I asked him if he would like me to show him how to draw a tree.  Yes.  So I did “hand over hand” and took a brown crayon and showed him how to draw a simple tree with a trunk and branches.  Ah but I was missing leaves it seemed.  So I showed him how to do that too but using hand over hand.

It was then that Johnny turned the paper over and noticed that there were a bunch of simple flowers drawn with crayon that I had drawn for his sister.  He said “flowers..Momma I want” and he pointed to his paper that was full of his scribbles.  “Do you want me to show you how to draw these?”  I got a big smile then with a very emphatic “YES.”  So I took his hand and showed him how to make Mommy’s version of simple flowers.   Over and over I could feel his hand trying to imitate the way I had drawn my flowers and I could see him glance back and forth at my paper to see if he was doing it right.  I soon realized that by his colour choices he was choosing the exact same colours and shades that I had used and wanting to COPY ME!  Yes! He not only wanted to learn to draw something but he was copying.  We have waited so long for him to do this.

So please excuses my attempt at drawing flowers for my daughter but I thought I’d share it so you can compare and see below Johnny first drawing of flowers.

Mommy’s Flower Lesson

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Johnny’s First Flowers

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

One Comment Add yours

  1. Marieta ivanova says:

    Many, many beautiful flowers! Keep up the lessons Cyn!

    Like

Love to hear what you think....

