My Little Boy Found A Piece of Heaven….

We were at our city’s museum to take the children to the special fun exhibit on Dinosaurs when my Curious George decided he wanted to explore more of the big old building.

Johnny noticed that the ceiling of one part of the building’s atrium had a beautiful mosaic that was from the nave of an Eastern Orthodox Church.  He wanted to go higher so he could get a closer look at the gorgeous icons.  When we reached the top he saw these glass doors with enormous interesting handles.  He wanted to go in.  It was the European Galleries and Johnny was heading into the Renaissance and Christianity area.

He went down on his knees.

qrjbqg

I stopped and tried to process what was happening.  I stood very still and waited, watched and listened.  Johnny’s Daddy was led by his little sister to go the opposite way to where the Knights in shinning exhibit was so I had time to savour this moment.  It definitely was a moment as I watched my son gaze around in deep thought taking in all the religious artifacts.  We were like this for at ten minutes as I quietly snapped pictures  of Johnny in blissful repose.

When Johnny decided to get up he slowly looked around and then found an old church pew to sit on and a button that put on some Venetian Renaissance music to listen to.  I sat and waited some more when he suddenly turned to me and smiled.  I asked him to tell me what he saw. “Mary” and he pointed to an ancient statue of Mary holding a baby Jesus.  Then he pointed again and said “Jesus and cross” to another old tabernacle and a statue and then “church” to an ancient challis.  Johnny goes to a Catholic school and to church with his school so it was an interesting window into what he has learned and the fact that he is generalizing this knowledge to other places.

 

23vhj4w

A child with Autism found some calm in a place full of lots of stimulation.

My little boy found a piece of heaven in a museum.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lauri Khodabandehloo says:

    This reminds me of my daughter when she first stepped onto the ice at our local ice rink…it was to be her home coming!!!

    Like

    1. Cyn says:

      Thank you for sharing a beautiful moment and stopping by my blog 🙂

      Like

Love to hear what you think....

