The Big Zebra

Mom and the Big Zebra
Mom and the Big Zebra

Monday would have been my Mom’s birthday and this is one of my favourite pictures of her. She won this big zebra at her bank branch raffle. She was laughing when they took the picture because of all the prizes she “could” have won she won the least likely thing that she needed. She always laughed about things. Anyone that knew her would say she was always smiling and finding joy or the irony in a snippet of life. This was one of the moments.

“You have got to be kidding? What am I suppose to do with a big zebra?”

Give it to your daughter.

“She has lots of stuffed animals and besides she is a teenager now.”

I remember when my Dad brought her home from work that day. I was sitting at the dinning room table doing homework and she came in with the big zebra. I thought it was cute but I was a little confused. Usually my Mom drove my Dad crazy by making a big purchase like another chair for the living room and wanted him to try and figure out how to get it into his hatchback and bring it home. She would stand with a big smile on her face waiting for him to pull up. I guess it was her cute way of getting even for all the times he would show up with a tester car from a car dealership trying to convince her it was time to get a new car.

“That’s great Mom you won the big zebra but…..”

“I am going to take it to the Children’s Hospital and donate it to the playroom there.”

And that’s what she did. She called them up and the next day my Dad had to chauffeur my Mom and the big zebra to the children’s hospital. She said later that the smiles on the little boys and girls faces was a bigger reward then winning the raffle. I think the memory of the big smile and the contagious laughter of my Mom when she retold her story of “The Big Zebra” is my reward.

Happy Birthday Mom.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Marietta Ivanova says:

    Your mother was great!You’re amazing, just like her!

    Like

    1. Cyn says:

      *blushes* thank you Marietta:) She was my best friend who taught me “how” to live.

      Like

Love to hear what you think....

