The Pledge:)

20130414-194429.jpg


Hand over heart …

I will do everything in my power to compare my girl only to … my girl.

I will recognize the staggering progress that she has made, and that recognition will be unsullied by … anything.

I will enjoy the time with my child, seeing what she does in school every day … and not worrying about what she doesn’t do.

I will congratulate her for all of her hard work and the wonder of all that she has accomplished because of it.

I will celebrate my incredible child for all that she is and revel in my overwhelming luck in being her Mama.

Amen.

When I first started taking me son to preschool parents would try to talk to him in the cloak room and then would comment “he is so shy.” When he started kindergarten and was integrated into a regular classroom with indirect support more questions came but from his classmates. “Why doesn’t he talk? Why doesn’t he speak? When will the say something to me? I have had some great folks in my life that told me to concentrate on what he CAN do and not what everyone EXPECTS him to do. He will get there in his own way and sometimes will make his own path.

DIARY OF A MOM wrote this wonderful pledge on her blog and I wanted to share it here on my blog. Thank you Jess:)

<a

a diary of a mom

*

This morning, we are headed to Brooke’s school for the fourth grade literacy morning. We will gather in the auditorium with the other parents, then split off to our children’s classrooms to play reading games with the kids.

After years of pasting on a smile and struggling through various iterations of these mornings, I’ve come up with the following pledge. For me, but more importantly, for Brooke.

~

Hand over heart …

I will do everything in my power to compare my girl only to … my girl.

I will recognize the staggering progress that she has made, and that recognition will be unsullied by … anything.

I will enjoy the time with my child, seeing what she does in school every day … and not worrying about what she doesn’t do.

I will congratulate her for all of her hard work and the wonder of all that she…

View original post 27 more words

Love to hear what you think....

