The Boy Who Wants to Talk So Badly ~ Tears of Frustration and Sadness

What a difference a year can make! I was scrolling through my previous posts to reminisce about how much progress Johnny has made and this one brought tears to my eyes. If ever there was a little boy who wanted to talk but just couldn’t get the words out it is Johnny. Now his expressive language has exploded and and snowballed and our two main concerns are:

1) articulation ie. to be understood and produce all sounds

2) to increase his self-confidence so that he displays his new found communication skill to everyone and in every place he goes

When I think back it is indeed my Dad passing away who he was close to that seemed to tip the balance and “make” him want to try and jump the communication hurdle and let it out, as well as the “MORE THAN WORDS” program from the Hanen Centre who showed us how to help him. We also discovered that our suspicions were true that he had motor speech delay – Apraxia of Speech and once Speech Pathologists who had experience and expertise in this,  his expressive language and self-confidence has grown.

Everything Under the Sun

the eyes

I was tucking Johnny in tonight and he patted his pillow and said quite clearly “Mama stay here, pillow.” He seemed sad and I told him I’d give him extra loves and snuggles before he falls alsleep. I started asking him about his day. Did you have fun at school? “Yes” with a little smile. I asked him about colouring today and art and he said “Ah fun” which means Johnny had fun. Today was the day when his class makes their weekly visit to the school library to take a book out to later bring home for the weekend. I mentioned library and he glanced at me and said “yes…Ah book.” Johnny got a book. I asked him what he book he chose and if he could try and tell me. He tried so hard to wrap his mouth around the words and tried to put some words together…

View original post 422 more words

Love to hear what you think....

