Love Me If I Am Purple

Image.jpg

 

 

Over the last year Johnny has a had a “thing” about the way he looks.  “I want yellow hair Mommy.  I don’t like brown hair.  I want to pull my hair out. I want my  hair the colour of Mommy or Princess.”  Johnny was born with lots of pitch black dark as night hair that completely fell out when he was 3 months old.  I remember panicking like crazy when I pulled him out of his bassinet one day and noticed strands of dark hair on his mattress.  My baby was going bald! A month later I noticed little strands of blond hair peaking through his scalp in between the black that was quickly falling out.  My boy had blond roots!  So as the months passed he slowly looked very different and was going blonder and blonder.  As the years have passed his hair has gone from being very blond, to an ash blond, to brownish blond hair with variations.  Johnny likes to look at old pictures of himself and he wanted his hair to be more yellow like it used to.  Luckily the summer sun and many days frolicking in the water gave him the yellow highlights that he so badly wanted.

“I don’t like to be beige.  I don’t want to be beige.  I want to be brown better.”

His favourite friend to play with at school is a little girl by the name of Elise and she is of Filipino heritage.  Again the summer sun slowly tanned his skin and gave him the shade he desired.

Last week he decided that purple is a nice colour to be.

I told him it is a nice colour but unless you are a clown, or an actor in a movie or play we do not have purple skin.

” I want to be purple Mommy.”

I told him to look at Mommy and Daddy and he said we have beige skin.  I explained to him that’s why he is beige.  I think you are handsome and lovely son being beige and you have a piece of Mommy and Daddy with you all the time.

“Mommy I want you to love me even if I’m purple.”

For so long I remembered wanting to know what was going on in his mind when he couldn’t speak to us.  Each time he says stuff like this to us its like we just got another golden nugget that’s precious.

“Of course honey…I will love you even if you are covered in rainbow stripes.”

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Amber Perea says:

    Awwwww! I LOVE this! Makes my heart smile 1000 watts. 🙂

    Like

    1. Cyn says:

      Awe thanks!

      Like

Love to hear what you think....

