“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing’s going to get better. It’s not.”

20140301-005933.jpg

 

I was walking into a school the other night for a parent workshop when I happened to look up and saw this quote.

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing’s going to get better. It’s not.” ~ Dr. Seuss The Lorax.

Whenever I read articles about autism awareness or autism acceptance I keep thinking about our advocacy journey regarding school, inclusion and learning. School is where the seeds of Autism awareness and Autism acceptance still needs to grow. There has to be “true acceptance of a child in order to teach them but that doesn’t mean accepting “where” they are in terms of learning. Accepting that we are all different in some way and that my son just learns in another way. It might not be the same way but that doesn’t mean to try and force him to learn in the accepted way.  if you are left handed you should not be forced to write with your right hand.

They say “motherhood” changes a girl but I wasn’t expecting to have to become such a feisty person for Johnny. There is actually a teacher that when walking down the street near my son’s school that avoids me…ME! I have learned to be relentless but always with a smile on my face’

I think that advocacy is my focus right now.

20140227-163119.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Cyn says:

      Thank you for the follow and reblog of my post on advocacy. It means a lot that you took the time to do this.

      Like

Love to hear what you think....

