Cowboy and Jack O Lanterns

Happy Halloween!  The above picture of Johnny was taken 2 years ago when he was in SK and he wanted to be a cowboy for Halloween.   I can’t believe that four years ago I wasn’t sure if Johnny truly understood what Halloween was about and if he was into “dressing up.” So much excitement with all the children all outside and wandering around in the dark which is something we don’t usually do in the Autumn or Winter. Then every house had different decorations and so much to look at and take in. Then add all the excited voices of the children pushing past and the adults at the door asking Johnny questions at every front porch and wanting him to say…”trick or treat.” The only thing is he can’t talk at all and all he can do is try and make eye contact and give a little smile. That was 4 years ago and so much has changed. Johnny still gets distracted and forgets to say the right thing at the right moment but I can say for sure he is enjoying Halloween. Tonight it was cold and raining but he opted to stay out a bit longer and go to a few more houses. I am rebloging a post from two years ago from when I really feel that Halloween changed for us in our house and most importantly for Johnny.

Everything Under the Sun

cowboy

This was the first year that I can whole heartedly say that Johnny REALLY enjoyed Halloween.  He had a big smile plastered on his face and he didn’t seem full of anxiety like he usually does when it comes to trick or treating.  When he got off the school bus on Halloween he practically tackled me with his hug when I asked him if he had a fun day at his 2 schools.

I asked him if he liked seeing his friends dressed in costumes too and he said “yes” and lots more kisses.  I tried to see if he could tell me what the other boys and girls in his class were wearing and I started saying names to prompt him.  I could tell he wanted to tell me more but he couldn’t find the words.  When I mentioned Elise’s name his eyes lit up and he said “she’s…

View original post 767 more words

Love to hear what you think....

